MLB Manager of the Year Award NL Marlins Schumacher, AL Orioles Hyde

Miami Marlins first-year manager Skip Schumaker, 43, has been named the National League’s 2023 Manager of the Year.

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) awarded the first-year manager 72 first-place votes in its Manager of the Year voting, which was announced on Friday. Schumaker, who succeeded Don Mattingly at the helm of the Marlins, led the team to an 84-78 regular-season record and a wild-card berth.토토사이트

Former Milwaukee Brewers Craig Counsell finished second with 51 votes. After moving to the Chicago Cubs, Council went 92-70 in 2023 and won the NL Central title. The Atlanta Braves, who received eight first-place votes along with Schumaker, placed manager Brian Snitker in third place with 48 votes.

In total, eight first-year managers were recognized, including Schumaker. In 2019, the Minnesota Twins’ Rocco Baldelli was also a first-year honoree. Schumaker won the award despite posting the worst run differential in baseball history at minus-57, but the Marlins were the best team in one-run games this year, going 33-14 with a .714 winning percentage.

He is the fourth Marlins manager to win the award, joining Don Mattingly in 2020, Joe Giraldi in 2006, and Jack McKeon in 2003. McKeon took over for Jeff Tobago as acting manager and led the team to a World Series title.

The American League honor went to Brandon Hyde of the Baltimore Orioles. Hyde received 27 first-place votes to win his first managerial award with a 144-61 record over Texas Rangers manager Bruce Bochy, who received just three first-place votes.

Tampa Bay Rays manager Kevin Cash, a two-time managerial winner (2020, 2021), finished third with 52 votes.

Heidi, who took over in Baltimore in 2019, struggled with 108 losses in his first year and 110 in 2021 before turning things around in 2022, when he finished second with 83 wins and 79 losses. This year, he went 101-61 and won the AL East. Baltimore’s 101 wins are the first in 43 years since legendary manager Earl Weaver won 100 in 1980.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *